Advice/Help on Adding a Google Voice Trunk?

I’m looking to add a Google Voice trunk that’s built into the new Asterisk 1.8. I use FreePBX in my system and was wondering if there’s any method to add it within the FreePBX framework. I really appreciate any help.

How to use Google Voice for free calls on an Asterisk 1.8+/FreePBX 2.8 system (the easy way)

That in part inspired me to come up with a vision for a Google Voice trunk module, which you can see here. Unfortunately I am not a coder, so if anyone wants that you’ll have to talk to the guys who write modules.

billsimon, thanks for trying to understand :wink:

I’ve made some progress since my last post but still have some issues.
My main goal is to call GTalk users from my IP hardphones and call them using digits only. So, I already have 2 trunks like you mentioned and can route to them by prefixes.

Now I need to find a way to store gtalk addresses somewhere within the FreePBX and pass them to the custom trunk I created. I almost found a workaround with the phonebook but faced the fact that dots are not allowed even in the “name” field.

At the moment the only working option for me is creating an extension of a custom type for each gtalk contact, with the dial string like “gtalk/asterisk/[email protected]”, but I don’t like this approach.

Thanks for reading!

I’m having a hard time understanding what you are trying to do.

The only limitation I have encountered when dealing with GTalk in FreePBX is that FreePBX doesn’t permit alphabet characters in routing. So you can’t (for example) match on a word used as a dial string and then route to your custom GTalk trunk accordingly.

I configured a workaround but it’s not great. Just make a numeric dialing prefix for GTalk such that when you want to make a GTalk call, you start with the numeric prefix, e.g. 048.