Advice for Young Man Getting Into the Communication Business

I am a lawyer who has been using FreePBX since the Trixbox days (2006). I only know enough about Asterisk and FreePBX to be REAL dangerous.

One of my sons was just laid off from his sale job in Ohio. He happened to be here with me in town while I was helping a buddy of mine install FreeBPX in his business, and my son was very interested in the FreePBX. He would like to learn about FreePBX in order to market it to people he knows. He says he knows small business who are paying gobs of money for their phones and that if he can become proficient in FreePBX, he thinks he can sell a lot of people on it.

So…

How does a young man (who knows a lot about sales and business, but almost nothing about Linux or programming) get into the FreePBX (or other PBX) business with the greatest chance of success?

Looking for suggestions on classes, training, certifications, books, apprenticeships, etc.

Your thoughts are and time are greatly appreciated.

1 Like

Personally I believe he is a little too late to this game, he can successfully make PBI for friends and family after investing many hours into learning more than the basics of linux and voip, but unless he is both a lawyer and an accountant he will need to pay both professions to ensure his tax and legal liabilities are covered and robust. After doing all that he should only expect a razor thin profit if buying origination and termination retail because his competition has been doing all that for many years and wholesale needs ‘a real lot of calls’

Jm2cwae

1 Like

@Crosstalk has a great youtube course on setting up freepbx https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=l30WKTYf9ZY&list=PL1fn6oC5ndU_umAhL9A_1zkC90hMPDPNO