Absolute Noob - Seeking Knowledge and Don't Know Where to Start

Firstly, I apologize for the trivialness of my post. I greatly lack the knowledge / lingo to even know the keywords that will help me find what I’m looking for. I did search on the forums and found this somewhat related thread: freepbx/t/noobie-question/22425 But couldn’t extract enough information from it.

Problem:

We’re a small company and we want to introduce a support phone number for our customers. However, a couple of our agents are in a different country, so an internet solution is needed. We have a phone line with a dedicated number for the support (landline).

I’m just generally looking for a telephony solution for my company, and I like to tinker, so I thought I might be able to build / put something together myself.

Questions:

• How can I convert / redirect the calls from the landline to a VPS we own (on AWS / Digital Ocean)? What is the name of the device needed for this job. We do have a good internet connection.

• How can I make our agents place calls from the web (freePBX ?) and they show up to our customers as if they were placed from our landline number

• What are the minimum hardware requirements that will help me solve our problem with the least cost?

Our Needs:

• We don’t have a high volume of calls expected. Around 50 incoming per day, and maybe 10 outgoing. So we’re looking for a solution to cover that.

• We don’t want to make monthly payments for the telephony service (other than the call costs).

• We need a simple IVR solution (freePBX covers that I think?)

I’d appreciate if someone could guide me / point me towards understanding the different aspects of interfacing between landline <> cloud VPS and the software involved such as freePBX

Thanks!