Secure FreePBX with Firewall to prevent hacking

I was in the process of setting up a new pbx to move off our current hosted pbx. After having it idle for a few months, and getting back to working with it past few days, I discovered it was recently hacked with the mgknight everyone has been talking about. After going thru trying to clean it up, I finally ditched the VM and have done a fresh beta install. The pbx is setup on our lan, behind a pfSense firewall, and I am going to lock this down tight this time. Before I had the RTP and Sip ports allowed thru firewall to anyone, but I am only allowing my remote office ip’s thru firewall now, to both sip and rtp. I am sure I will have to allow traffic on some ports to my sip trunk provider, but do I have to allow public access to anything, or will all traffic go to my sip trunk provider? Just looking for the best rules to put in place to prevent having to worry about this again. Thanks

Mike

I’ve been doing this for a couple of years or more, I have helped to fund both Chinese Universities and Palastinians, I regret both . . .

A few suggestions,

Never use beta software unless you are prepared to add risk.
Never run a SIP server on 5060 nor a wb server on 80/443, it will be attacked in minutes.
Always add a rootkit analysis tool, it will notify you of things that you need to know about, maybe not immediately but within a day.
Always add a local iptables based firewall, running without one is just plain neglectful.
Never have a mysql root account not protected by a password
watch sensitive directory structures like /etc/asterisk and /var/www/html for unrequested changes.

If you follow these suggestions then I am pretty sure you will never see mr. mgknight or his ilk again.

My recipe is

Install the OS (you will need one, I use Debian)
Install rkhunter (without that you fly with your trousers unbelted from that point on)