Ring multiple phones from one trunk ? select line to dial from?

Hello, total noob here, but I now can answer a ringing line and make a call from my first trunk.
My setup is two FXO lines and some snom phones. What I want it to do is ring all the phones when a CO line is ringing to the FXO. (Selective ring tone to indicate which line is ringing would also be nice.) Then, any station could answer the ringing line.

Second problem is how to select which line to dial out from by the line select buttons on the phones.
Right now, it seems to always dial out from the first line (FXO unit).

Thanks much in advance for any help with setting this up!

Jon

Issue #1

You need to create a Ring Group.
Allocate ALL your extensions to the Ring Group.
Send ALL your Incoming calls to the Ring Group.
Answer any incoming call from any phone handset/extension.

Solved. You’re welcome.
BTW, we were all noobs at least once. :wink:

Edit. Consider what happens when you have more than 1 concurrent incoming call. You need to explore the Queues module.

Issue #2

Now I’m a noob, but willing to have a guess, in case it assists.
I’m not familiar with snom phone/s, but to select outbound trunks by line number/s on phones, you may need to register each “line” button as a separate extension, and then apply different extension/s to different outbound route/s.
There’s a whole Extension Routing module for you to explore.
HTH

I’m a FreePBX Noob too :slight_smile:

Do you need to choose the outgoing line manually? Or can you let FreePBX choose for you?

Example a:
I have a direct dial number. Therefore I may want to choose to dial out from the company number, or from my direct dial number. To do that, I’d need to either