Registering Ekiga client with FreePBX

Hello,

I have just installed FreePBX 2.5.1.0 via AsteriskNow 1.5. The installation went smoothly. I am attempting to register a soft client, Ekiga 3.2.6 but not having much luck.

I checked through the admin guide and have searched the forums for a basic setup but was unable to find anything. I did read the guide on setting up extensions and it was informative, but am wondering if there is more.

Obviously, I am new to this and if there is a simple starting guide I am missing maybe I just need a pointer to that.

My Ekiga client settings:

Account-
Name: 5003
Registrar: "IP of the Asterisk server"
User: 5003
Authentication User: 5003
Password: 5003
Timeout: 3600
Enable Account box checked

SIP Settings (in Ekiga Preferences)-
Outbound Proxy: (blank)
Forward URI: sip:(blank)
DTMF Mode: RFC2833

FreePBX Extention settings:

Display Name: 5003
SIP Alias: 5003
secret: 5003
dtmfmode: rfc2883
canreinvite: no
context: from-internal
host: dynamic
type: friend
nat: yes
port: 5060
qualify: yes
dial: SIP/5003
mailbox: 5003@device

The rest of the settings are default or blank. Note this is a flat network with no NAT or firewalling. Ekiga says “Could not register (Failed)”

Any tips are much appreciated!

Addendum: I am not sure if this is related but the Asterisk server has two network connections on two different subnets. I am accessing the GUI on subnet A, but the client is attempting to register on subnet B.

You need to fill in the registrar details - ip address of your asterisk now server. Change your password(5003)to something more secure.

Thanks, I have the registrar listed as the Asterisk IP (I actually commented out the IP address using “<” in the original post but it seems to have hidden that)and have verified connectivity. I agree the password needs to be more secure but as of now, this is in a quarantined lab environment.