Problems logging to external syslog server

Hi - I’m new to FreePBX (and Linux). We’ve bought a Sangoma FreePBX 60 to run the phones at our private nursing home. I’ve got everything working nicely but we’ve had two instances of extended downtime on our SIP trunk - so far unexplained. First time, the trunk de-registered and was timing out trying to re-register until I rebooted the router (Draytek 2960). Second time, the trunk de-registered and received 486 “Busy Here” when it tried to re-register (but succeeded after about 30mins). In order to track down this problem I’ve agreed with the trunk supplier to supply complete PBX and router logs if/when it happens again - so I’ve set up PRTG Network Monitor to collect and combine logs from everything.

But… the logs being received from the FreePBX box are peppered with messages like this:

syslog: unknown facility/priority: 405

I’m now cross-eyed from googling this! I understand that there’s a bug in glibc that may be the cause of my woes, and that asterisk has (on Mar 25 2016) patched main/logger.c

/* Don't use LOG_MAKEPRI because it's broken in glibc<2.17 */
syslog_level = facility | syslog_level; /* LOG_MAKEPRI(facility, syslog_level); */

I assume it would be some time before that patch appears in my system, so my question is: is there some other way I can get around this? Could I, for example, update glibc (to >2.17) without breaking anything?

A further (and perhaps related) problem is with controlling what is sent to the remote server. I have:

syslog.local0 => dtmf,error,notice,warning,security,verbose(10)

in logger_logfiles_custom.conf and

*.* <tab> @10.0.1.42:514

in rsyslog.conf - at the syslog server I’m getting the OS logs from the box itself and only SECURITY messages (plus the “unknown” messages) from FreePBX. If I try

local0.* <tab> @10.0.1.42:514

then I get nothing at all at the other end. Am I misunderstanding something?