Intercom usage

Hi I’m new to FreePBX and only have a little asterisk experience so perhaps someone could answer a question about the paging application. This is a new installation and I am evaluating several phones for transitioning my company from a legacy pbx.

I am being told that by dialing *80 I will be asked for the extension I would like to establish an intercom session with. Similar to the voicemail application (by dialing *98). This is not the case on my installation (Asterisk 1.4, FreePBX core 2.5.1.1 and intercom 2.5.0.6). I get no response to dialing *80. A pcap shows:

Request: INVITE sip:*[email protected], with session description
Request: ACK sip:*[email protected]
Request: INVITE sip:*[email protected], with session description
Request: ACK sip:*[email protected]

Looking through extensions_additional.conf I see this: *98,n,Noop(app-dialvm: Asking for mailbox) *98,n,Read(MAILBOX,vm-login,,,3,2) extensions_additional.conf:exten => *98,n(check),Noop(app-dialvm: Got Mailbox ${MAILBOX}) but nothing like this for the intercom application.

So is this not a feature of the FreePBX intercom application? Is this an Asterisk feature that has been implemented locally by the organization telling me this?

Enlighten me please.

Additionally - is there a way to make this work without doing a feature request for the intercom module? If I add a Read() line FreePBX will just overwrite it, yes?

In that you are used to working with asterisk and not FreePBX. A couple of pointers for you. Many of the files like extensions.conf and extensions_additional.conf are “owned” by FreePBX so don’t go editing them. You can find more info by following the link posted at the top of each of those files.

Next make sure that you have the the paging and intercom module installed and enabled via the module admin. Next make sure that the paging feature code is enabled via the feature codes page otherwise it will not work.