How do I connect my PBX to the PSTN (Asterisk Newbie, UK)

I need to figure out rather urgantly how to configure my Asterisk server to make it send and recieve calls on the PSTN (I’m in the UK by the way), I have a zaptel card and it’s plugged into the line. The FreePBX ISO I used to set up Asterisk was “PBX in a Flash” and it created an outbound route “9_outside” with the dial pattern “9|.” with the zap card as the trunk sequence, which I’ve named “ZAP/1” because the FreePBX site told me to.

I’ve specified my caller ID in the trunk configuration, set max channels to 1, outbound dialing prefix to 9, and every page I google about setting this up says the next step is “Set a dial rule you want for this trunk”, all the drop down items talk about US/CAN, what do I type in the dial rule box? please bear in mind I am a complete newbie to phone systems. I have a book on Asterisk, but it’s confusing, aimed at configuring WITHOUT FreePBX (just using config files), and seems to only talk about US dialing codes, I’m in the UK. If I try calling a outside line at the moment the voice says “All circuits are busy now, please try your call again later”

As for inbound routes I haven’t found any information on this yet, but I want it to simply ring all the extentions when a call comes in (once I have it doing that I can worry about anything mor complex), I have 13 SIP extentions set up and have not begun configuring the inbound route. PBX in a flash does not seem to specify a default inbound route.

at the command prompt use asterisk-r to watch the number being sent out to the trunk

I am assuming here you have just a normal British Telecom circuit and not a featureline or going onto another PABX

so if you are dialling 9 01632 964023

you should just see 01632 964023 being dialled out to trunk