FreePBX Install on NUC Intel Celeron dual core 2.4Mhz

Hi. I decided to move from a Beaglebone Black RasPBX into a FreePBX install. Seems like the Beaglebone can handle only 4 simultaneous calls. I may purchase an used Intel NUC Celeron dual core 2.4MHz 4GB RAM, which can support perhaps more simultaneous calls, but the device in view unfortunately has no CD-RW slot. It comes with Ubuntu pre-installed.

Question: how can I donwload and install the FreePBX + Asterix files package here https://www.freepbx.org/downloads/freepbx-distro/ and install them into my CD-RWless NUC Ubuntu machine?

I am not an Ubuntu expert (my pcs run on Windows 10). If there is a way to automatize the install that would be great. Any advice is welcome! :slight_smile:

Depending on whether you want to keep ubuntu on the machine or not.

1. Don’t keep ubuntu:
    Download the freepbx iso, write it to USB drive, boot your NUC with the USB, and run the installation process.
  2. Keeping ubuntu:
    In this case I refer you to the docs http://wiki.freepbx.org/display/FOP/Installing+FreePBX+12+on+Ubuntu+Server+14.04+LTS

Good Luck!

1 Like

lesismore, thank you. Indeed, no need to keep ubunto. All I need is to have the FreePBX up and running as soon as possible. I will go for your first option. :slight_smile:

To create USB flash drive with bootable ISO you may use:

• YUMI – Multiboot USB Creator
  • Rufus
  • WinSetupFromUSB

Please don’t do any of those things. We have a specific USB Image, that is downloadable from here:

http://downloads.freepbxdistro.org/ISO/FreePBX-10.13.66-16-x86_64-Full-1473945303.img

You’ll see that we have explicit USB image links on the download page - https://www.freepbx.org/downloads/

If you’re using the new Beta-2 SNG7 ISO (which isn’t actually released yet… but hopefully this week) you CAN use the ISO as a USB image using DD, or rufus or any of the above.

1 Like