CNAM not showing up at the called party

I am trying to wrap my head around this. I have a Freepbx Distro 2.11 with CallerID Management module installed. I can send two different numbers out at will, no problem. The CallerID name does not follow. Using a TCPdump I can see that the call is setup with both the correct CNAM and the CID being sent to the SIP trunk provider. Actually I have two providers. One is ESI and the other is Clear Rate. Both are sending the same info to my cell phone. Are they responsible for passing Both CNAM and CID to the called party?

Hey Ed,

I’m a bit of a noob with this stuff but I’ve got an okay understanding of things, and I believe that you’re half right here. BOTH endpoints of the call need to be provided with this information by the carriers. SIP doesn’t care, it’s a protocol. A carrier might, because people could put something that would endanger, harass, or defraud the callee.

Off the top of my head:

• 911 Operator
  • I WILL KILL YOUR FAMILY
  • US Government
  • Microsoft/Apple Tech Support
  • VISA/Mastercard
  • [Bank Name Here]

So rather than put themselves at risk of liability for transmitting falsified data, and for the good of the general public, they likely drop it.

I don’t know any of this for sure, but as a thought experiment I think it works :slight_smile:

It would be the cell phone carrier that provides the CNAM “dip” it would display, thus unlikely to work :slight_smile:

1 Like

Thanks guys for the replies. I pretty much figured what you both said. Chalk it up to another Gotcha for the industry then. IMHO it seems like the calling phone carrier should have the control not the called phone carrier. Ass backwards it seems to me. But hey they didn’t ask me :))

I think they usually ask people then do the opposite of whatever they say :smiley:

The calling phone carrier DOES have control over it, it’s just that it is VERY expensive to subscribe to and maintain, so many budget VSP’s just don’t spend that money.