BLF required to not show "ringing" state

Oh good grief. I’ve spent a few hours reading articles and trying different ideas with no success.

I have a FreePBX system with a few Gigaset DE900s and a Gigaset N510. The DE900s have BLF assigned to buttons - and this was only done so reception and a couple of other users could see in-use extensions.

The problem is that, correctly, the BLF flashes for incoming calls but since every extension is a member of the ring group, the DEs light up like a Christmas tree when an incoming call arrives.

I don’t need pickup ability and don’t want the BLF subscription to notify the subscriber when the extension is ringing.

Originally I hoped notifyringing = no would easily fix this but of course now. Then I’ve tried creating a custom hint for each extension and placing it in the override file but can’t get that working either.

What’s very frustrating to me is that I work in IT and don’t normally go round and round with little result - right now, I’m totally lost and confused.

Please help… :wink:

I know this is an old post, but I had this problem too, where blinking BLFs were completely unacceptable for our users, and we searched endlessly for a solution. I found that removing the ringing state from getting sent to phone via BLF hints requires modifications to asterisk’s chan_sip and/or pjsip and a custom compile of the module. This is super rough, but here’s a really basic outline if you are using chan_sip (I don’t use pjsip yet so haven’t developed a procedure for that). There are more elegant ways to doing this such as making patch files, but that’s above my paygrade.

Setup a Sangoma SNG7 development environment on a VM or different machine - can’t link to how to do this here due to being a new user, but basically you just need to do a fresh SNG7 install and run:

yum install sangoma-devel